Practice Improvement Committee

Trauma Sub-Committee Report March 2021

FY22 Activities:

Sub-Committee has met in fall, early winter for updates, discuss and planning of the survey of the CMHSPs, PIHPs and State Hospitals.

Sub-Committee is planning to survey the CMHSP, PIHP or Hospital system on the status of building trauma informed organization and their offering of trauma specific screening, assessment, and treatments for each population served.

Sub-Committee Issues in FY22:

- Determine when to send out the survey to CMHSPs, PIHPs and State Hospitals (post COVID) to get accurate picture of the work being done in the systems.
- Upon receipt of the trauma surveys, the Sub-Committee will review the results and, if needed, make recommendations for revision to the BHDDA Trauma Policy.
- Membership list included with this report. Co-Chairs have determined a need to recruit new members from CMHSPs, PIHPs. Looking for members from different parts of the state (UP, Northern Michigan, etc.) as well as members who provide leadership in their organizations to build a trauma informed system. "Trauma Champions" from CMHSPs, PIHPs or State Hospitals are welcome to join.

Trauma Sub-Committee Membership February 2021

<u>Co-Chairs</u>: Colleen Jasper, MDHHS <u>jasperc@michigan.gov</u> Mary Ludtke, MDHHS <u>ludtkem@michigan.gov</u>

Members:

Ambrosia Jackson, Trauma MI-FAST, <u>Ambrosia.Jackson@mccmh.net</u> Steve Batson, Trauma MI-FAST, <u>sbatson33@gmail.com</u> Amy Cowper, CEICMH, <u>cowper@ceicmh.org</u> Andrea Vandenbergh, MDHHS-Hospital, <u>VandenberghA@michigan.gov</u> Angela J. Smith-Butterwick, MDHHS, <u>SmithA8@michigan.gov</u> Becky Fatzinger, Van Buren County CMH, <u>bfatzinger@vbcmh.com</u> George Mellos, MD, MDHHS, <u>mellosg@michigan.gov</u> Jody Lewis, MDHHS, <u>lewisj@michigan.gov</u> Kim Avesian, Oakland Community Health Network, <u>avesiank@oaklandchn.org</u> Mary Baukus, Saginaw County CMHA, <u>mbaukus@sccmha.org</u> Jim Klingenberg, MDHHS ORR, <u>klingenbergj@michigan.gov</u>